WSU Women's Tennis GLIAC Champions
GLIAC Media Relations

Women's Tennis Lauren Bryne, Sports Information Graduate Intern

Women's Tennis Claims GLIAC Tournament Title

MIDLAND, Mich. -- The fourth-seeded Wayne State University women's tennis team (11-2 overall) won the 2018 GLIAC Tournament title after a 4-0 win over Northwood (10-2 overall) on Sunday.

This is Wayne State's second tournament title for women's tennis under the league's current format with the 2014-15 squad being the previous team.  WSU won seven league titles in an eight-year span from 1975-79 and 1980-82 when the regular season and tournament were combined into one championship team.

At No. 1 doubles, senior Dasha Kuznetsova (Moscow, Russia) and redshirt sophomore Khadija Da-Silva (Burlington, Ont.) won 6-4 against Tanya Pavych and Yubi Arnez Mercado.

Senior Astrid Ciellza (Tecumseh, Ont.) and sophomore Stephanie Stamate (Windsor, Ont.) earned a 6-4 victory at No. 3 doubles against Vasilisa Mikhaylova and Anna Goncharova.

Sophomore Linda Liong (Tanjung Kidurong, Malaysia) and freshman Laura Cazacu (London, England) had an unfinished match at the second flight against Iryna Trystan and Elizaveta Velichko after the Warriors took the doubles point.

Cazacu swept Arnez Mercado at No. 2 singles (6-0, 6-0).

At No. 4 singles, Da-Silva took on Trystan in a close match.  After winning the first set and losing the second, Da-Silva pulled out a win in the third set (6-1, 3-6, 6-1).

Freshman Carla Jewell (Hobart, Ind.) defeated Goncharova at No. 6 singles (6-0, 6-2).

Kuznetsova (No. 1), Liong (No. 3), and sophomore Tanja Skalda (Prien Am Chiemsee, Germany) (No. 5) did not finish their matches as WSU had already clinched the match.

The Warriors receive an automatic qualifying bid into the NCAA Women's Tennis Tournament, with regional play set to take place on May 13-14, 2019.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned